/ Navajo History / Navajo Nation Seal

Navajo Nation Seal

navajocodetalkersadmin on July 30, 2014 - 10:00 am in Navajo History

Popularly known as Dine Bikeyah, the Navajo nation is situated in the four areas of the U.S. The borders are also set by the four major mountains like Tsoodzil, Tsisnaasjini, Mount Hesperus and Doko’ooslid. The area actually covers twenty-six thousand square miles that makes it the biggest India reservation.

Size of the Navajo Nation

The size of the Navajo nation is the same with West Virginia. There are homes with two-hundred thousand Navajo people. It has its beautiful landscape that includes the beautiful Monument Valley. There are one-hundred fifty thousand members who work and live in the area. Apart from it, the nation mainly borders the Hopi Indian.

As per the government of the Navajo, it is considered to be the most sophisticated and largest among the government of the Native Americans. It is challenged in the maintenance of the economy for the growing population. The government’s tribal structure is mainly dependent on the political authorities. The government seat of the Navajo is situated in the Window Rock, in Arizona.

Design of the Seal

The Navajo Nation Seal is specifically designed by the famous Mr. John Claw, Jr. It was then officially adopted by the tribal council of the Navajo on the eighteenth day of January 1952. The seal has its forty-eight arrowheads and projectile points. They mainly symbolize the protection of the Navajo Nations in the 48 states, ever since 1952. There were two points that have been added and represent the fifty states of the U.S. At the topmost part of the three concentric lines is the East. The lines mainly symbolize the rainbow while sovereignty represents the Navajo nation.

The rainbow is not that closer to the sovereignty of the nation. Red is also the line outside, yellow is for the middle line and blue is for the inside line. The sun is shining in the east and then on the main sacred mountains like Tsoodzi, Dib4 Ntsaa and Dook’o’osl77d. The sacred ceremonial stones include Baashzhinii, Diichi|I, Doot|izhii and Yoo|gaii.

As mentioned, the rainbow is representing the independence of the Navajo nation. The colors of the rainbow are yellow, red and blue. There are also green plants that symbolize the Navajo life sustainer. The bottom part of the seal is also decorated with yellow pollen because used during the Navajo ceremonies. At the center, there are the cow, horse, and the sheep for livestock industry.

The two cornstalks that have pollen greatly represent the sustainer of the Navajo life. A sheep, cow, horse, is located at the center and symbolize the livestock of Navajo.

Use of the Seal

On the eighteenth day of January 1952, the Navajo Nation Seal was used by the tribal council. It also underwent a lot of modifications. Its arrow heads stand for the states that before there were forty-eight points; at the present, there are fifty including Hawaii and Alaska in 1959. There is not yet a modification. However, the nation moved to fifty arrow heads. The inscription is changed from the Navajo tribe and to the Navajo nation.

Comments are disabled

Comments are closed.